Knees, Yoga, Leftovers, Book.

Welcome to my most random post to date.  🙂  Hope you enjoy.

First the knees.  The doctor diagnosed me with bilateral chondromalacia patella.  Basically, the cartilage under my knee cap is torn and soft, thus causing pain while running.  There are several options for this, the most successful being surgery that entails shaving the torn cartilage off.  Oftentimes, however, physical therapy can help strengthen the quads, thus prolonging the need for surgery.

After some thought and talks with the hubby, I have decided to try to increase my quadriceps on my own through yoga, some specific quad exercises, and by use of my elliptical.  Thus, I will put running on the back-burner until spring.

This, of course, was a perfect excuse for me to buy a yoga video!  I found a great one on myyogaonline.com.  I highly recommend this site!  They have a great selection, and I was able to find a video that focused on strengthening the legs and lengthening the hamstrings.  Find it here.

For lunch I had some yummy leftovers (again!).  I am finding out that it takes a while for a single person to polish off leftovers.  Unfortunately, I don’t think I can stand another bite of this corn casserole!

Finally, my dear friends, I want to leave you with a picture of a book.  This is not just any book, this is an epic book!  It’s literally been years since I have wanted to stay up late just to read a few more pages that then turns into 50!  Stay tuned for a review of it later this week.  And start saving $12 so you can go to Barnes & Noble to buy yourself a copy.

P.S.  I’ve been meaning to reply to you SavaThis link is for you!  Namaste.

About journeytobodyzen

Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Knees, Yoga, Leftovers, Book.

  1. Sava says:

    Thanks 😀
    My mother and I recently had a discussion about how some people avoid yoga because it suggests religious beliefs that they don’t want to support.

    I personally think that it is more finding peace and strength inside yourself rather than being tied to religion.

    • Yep, totally agree. For me it’s not a religious/spiritual thing at all. If anything its about finding balance and calm in my busy life while strengthening my body through poses and breath.

Leave a Reply

