Corn Casserole.

Since the hubs is leaving today to go to Mass all week, I decided that he needed one good ‘n hearty, last home-cooked meal before he lives off of fast food for the week.  (I may be a tad bit jealous…seriously!).

After a quick browse of some popular blogs, I decided to make Caitlin’s Pumped-Up Corn Casserole, however, to make it extra appealing to the husband, I added cheese :).

The yummy ingredients include whole kernel corn, cream corn, tofu, corn bread mix, sour cream and cheese.  Btw, Caitlin’s recipe calls for broccoli, however, I totally forgot the broccoli when at the grocery store.  So no broccoli it is.

This recipe is easy.  I love easy.  All you do is mix all the ingredients together and pour in a greased baking dish!

Three great things about this recipe:  easy, cheap, hearty.  Can’t beat it.

Corn Casserole

Adapted from Caitlin’s Pumped-Up Corn Casserole

  • 1 box corn muffin mix (I used a box of the cheap Jiffy brand)
  • 1 can of creamed corn
  • 1 can of whole kernel corn
  • 1 cup of sour cream (I used Cabot Reduced Fat=local and yum)
  • 1/2 block of extra firm tofu, cubed
  • 1 cup of cheese (I used mild cheddar, but sharp cheddar would be good too!)

Mix it all together.  Put it in a greased baking dish.  Bake at 350 for about 45 min.  Viola!

About journeytobodyzen

Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Corn Casserole.

  1. inmytummy says:

    That sounds good. I just blogged about Jiffy cornbread mix earlier this evening. I used to love it as a kid.

  2. Sava says:

    Ooooh cornbread sounds delightful!

    And of course,
    Everything is more appealing with cheese.
    (I’m such a bad vegan)

  3. Jacquelyn says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen an easier recipe- love that! It looks delicious, too! Thanks for sharing and thanks for using Cabot cheese- our farm family owners appreciate it, and so do I!
    ~Jacquelyn

Leave a Reply

