An Eventful Weekend.

Hello friends.  Sorry for the delay in posts.  I have had quite a weekend!  We went camping again in Vermont.

We left Thursday, and things were great until Friday. Let me re-cap.  I started out the morning with a walk and saw this pretty waterfall:

Then I came back to campsite and relaxed.

That afternoon, my husband decided to go hunting.  I think I’ve written before about how one of his favorite hobbies is hunting.  Specifically, he hunts white-tailed deer.  Being from the South, he grew up hunting with his dad and brother.  Anyway, he left at about 4pm.  I stayed in the tent and starting reading a new book.  At 5pm, my phone rang and it was my husband.  He was extremely disoriented and was mumbling so bad, I could hardly understand a word he said.  When he became more coherent, he said that he had fallen 15′ out of his tree-stand when the cable holding it broke.  I immediately went into panic mode.  It was crazy how uncomposed I was…..

He was able to walk back to his truck and drive to the campsite.  I quickly drove him to Dartmouth Hospital where he underwent many x-rays and cat scans.  He was in extreme pain!

It’s with a thankful heart that I can report he only broke one small bone in his back-and it would heal naturally!  He was so very lucky.  This is me in the hospital after finding out he was going to OK.

I love him so very much.  🙂

He wanted to stay through the weekend, although I was a bit apprehensive about him sleeping in a tent with a broken bone!  But, he toughed it out, and we had a great day yesterday.  Of course, he was very sore all over his body and had to take it very easy. I grilled us some spinach and cheese sandwiches along with some parsnips.

This was the first time we had each had parsnips.  And, we don’t like them!  They had a weird spice taste to me.  Almost like a horseradish kick.

We also saw this hot-air balloon floating over the gorge.  The vibrant colors were breathtaking.  It made me feel so happy inside!

It’s nice to be back in my comfortable home now, although camping was fun.  Moose is dead to the world on his bed :).  I’m so happy and feel blessed that the hubs didn’t suffer any extensive injuries.  Don’t worry, he will always have on a safety system from now on!  Well, I’ve got to go check on him and make sure he isn’t overdoing it :).

About journeytobodyzen

Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Day to Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Eventful Weekend.

  1. inmytummy says:

    Glad your husband is okay! That is scary.

    I had parsnips recently and didn’t like them either.

Leave a Reply

