The Big Day.

Today is the day I go to the orthopedic doctor!  I’ve been anxiously awaiting this appointment, because I want to check with him and make sure it is okay for me to be running.  You see, I played volleyball for four years in high school and the combination of that plus a predisposition to bad knees (my dad just had a knee replacement….ouch!) has me concerned that running may not be the best thing for me. 

Let me take you back ten years.  Okay, wow, I was 19.  During this time I was a freshman at the University of Georgia and my knees ached all the time!  It was an almost tearful event to walk up a flight of stairs :(.  I went to the doctor who told me:

  • My hamstrings are naturally too short for my legs.
  • I have patellar tendonitis in both knees.
  • I vaguely remember him saying something about my plica.
  • He recommended orthoscopic surgery on my right knee. 

He referred me to physical therapy, which I attended for 6 months.  It kinda helped, but after this time in my life I became pretty sedentary so the knee pain greatly subsided. 

But now it’s back!  I’ve managed to run up to 3 miles, and I’m motivated to do more than that!  However, I want to make sure that I’m not destroying my knee in the process.

My appointment is at 3:30, and I’ve done a lot of research and feel I’ve found a great doctor!  He’s actually a runner himself and loves watersports too.  Wish me luck!

About journeytobodyzen

Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Big Day.

  1. inmytummy says:

    Good luck. Hope you get the news you want.

  2. Best of luck! I hope everything turns out well for you and that you can get back into running again. 😀

  3. Sava says:

    Oh my, good luck!

    That really strikes me as odd about your hamstring. I have never heard of a muscle being naturally too small @.@

Leave a Reply

