Spoiled Rotten.

Since the hubby is leaving on Sunday and will be gone during the week (only home on the weekends) until March, I was more than willing to accommodate his request for chocolate chips added to the oatmeal cookies I was making for our camping trip.  Okay, I admit it….I wanted them added too.

I love packing brown sugar.  It’s slightly therapeutic for me.

But, even more than packing brown sugar, I love eating the dough.  Tell me you don’t want a bite of this:

Of course, while making these tonight, I sipped on a chilled glass of Pinot Grigio and admired the view from my open sliding door:

Beautiful, huh?  I love fall.  I love mountains.

These cookies were easy to make, slightly healthy, and the hubs loved them.  Mission accomplished.

I rested today because I was so sore from my 4 mile run/walk.  However, I plan on running 3 miles before we leave for Vermont tomorrow.  I’m thankful for having tomorrow off so I can spend a few days with my husband before he leaves.  Goodnight world 🙂

Oatmeal (and Chocolate Chip) Cookies

Adapted from Martha Stewart, makes 18-20 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 cup canola or olive oil
  • 2/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, whisk together flours and baking powder; set aside.
  • In a large bowl, whisk together oil, sugar, egg, and vanilla. Add flour mixture, and stir to combine; mix in oats and currants.
  • Using two tablespoons of dough per cookie, roll into balls; place on two baking sheets lined with parchment paper, 1 1/2 inches apart. Bake until lightly browned, 15 to 17 minutes, rotating sheets halfway through.
  • Cool 5 minutes on sheets, then transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container at room temperature, up to 5 days.
  • Advertisements

    About journeytobodyzen

    Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
    This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

    Leave a Reply

    