Pumpkin Muffins

Good news!  I ran 2.9 miles today in 30:58.  Super happy!  Here are my recent stats:

9/17   2 miles       24:11

9/19  2 miles       Unknown

9/21   2.5 miles   33:36 <—- very slow pace!

9/23   2.5 miles   32:11

9/25   2.9 miles   30:58

I also did a great yoga class this morning.  It was super refreshing.  At the end, during the relaxation segment, they put lavender pillows on our eyes, and I felt so gooooood. 🙂

After my run, I was ready to bake.  And bake something with pumpkin.  It’s that time of year!  I kinda reconstructed a zucchini bread recipe that I have in order to make pumpkin muffins.  You should make them too!

Confession:  My favorite part of baking is licking the beaters and bowl.  There, I said it.

They must be pretty darn good because I awoke from a nap and my husband had eaten 6 of them! 🙂

Off to lay down and nurse my pounding headache….later!

Pumpkin Muffins

Ingredients:

1 can of pumpkin

3 eggs

¾ cup Canola oil

1 tsp vanilla

1 ½ cup sugar

½ cup brown sugar

3 cups of flour (I use 2 cups white, 1 cup whole wheat)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp salt

Mix wet ingredients in a bowl (pumpkins, eggs, oil, vanilla, and sugars).  In separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients.  Slowly add the dry to the wet and mix well.  Spoon into muffin pan or (2) 5×9 loaf pans.  Bake at 325 degrees for 20 minutes for the muffins or 35 minutes for the loaves.  Use toothpick to ensure they are done.  Makes 24 muffins.

About journeytobodyzen

Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pumpkin Muffins

  1. Sava says:

    I just make pumpkin cookies (which I actually used a pumpkin donut recipe for, so I guess they were actually misshapen pumpkin donuts) and they were amazing.

    It definitely has me hankering for some more pumpkin baked goods 😀

  2. inmytummy says:

    I just found your blog and have to say, yum pumpkin muffins. I just made some the other day too.

  3. those look awesome!
    I have not been able to get pumpkin yet 😦 it’s all sold out every time I go to the store and nobody knows when it will be back in stock!

    • @ Sava: Your cookies were my inspiration!
      @ immytummy: thanks for stopping by!
      @ Sonia: I’ve actually had that can of pumpkin in my pantry since last Thanksgiving! Can you believe it? I was tired of staring at it and decided it must be used. Thank goodness it didn’t expire till 2012! LOL

  4. Pingback: The Last of the Pumpkin Muffins. | ~Journey To Body Zen~

Leave a Reply

