Stamina, Pace, and Hydration

Today I have been super excited about one thing.  And it isn’t the fact that it’s Friday!  I’ve been resting in anticipation of my 2 mile run today.  On Tuesday I was able to run 2 miles in 23 minutes and 11 seconds, so I was determined to beat that pace today.

I started my run really strong, but almost immediately things didn’t feel right.  Unlike Tuesday, today’s run felt like a struggle from the beginning.  The thought crossed my mind that maybe I had started out at too fast a pace, but in my excitement for the run I quickly let the thought go and kept pushing myself.

Well, it certainly didn’t get any easier.  At mile 1.4 I felt that if I didn’t stop that my lungs were going to literally explode and someone would find me on the side of the road!  From that point I walked home, trying a couple of times to run again, but to no avail.  😦

When I got back to check my time, I had done the same 2 miles in 24 minutes and 11 seconds, which is only one minute longer!  I definitely think that I started out way too fast for my own good, which led to a quick burn out.

Overall, these were the issues that led to my bad run today:

1.  Pace-I started out way too fast!  It would have been a much smoother run if I had maintained a slower pace at the beginning.

2.  Hydration-Thinking about how I spent this morning and afternoon prior to my run I realized that all I had had to drink all day was 1 cup of coffee!  Obviously, it is important that I am well hydrated if I want to have a successful run without tiring out.

3.  Inhaler-Unlike Tuesday, today I did not use my inhaler.  Maybe this is why I felt I was going to cough up a lung only 1.4 miles in!  Definitely won’t forget to use the inhaler again.

4.  Stamina-Today was just one of those days when I didn’t feel strong.  I didn’t sleep that great last night, so my stamina was not at its peak performance .

With this said, I’m really looking forward to a better run on Sunday! Oh, and I am going to my first ever yoga class tomorrow.  I really can’t wait to see how I like it.

Here are some pics I took today in my front yard. Enjoy! 🙂

About journeytobodyzen

Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stamina, Pace, and Hydration

  1. Sava says:

    I’m sorry your run wasn’t everything you’d hoped for, but at least you didn’t get attacked by bloodthirsty killing machines! And you learned a little something about how to make your next run better, which is always good.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

