Southern Asparagus Casserole

Being from the South, I’m used to eating all my veggies smothered in butter, cheese, and breadcrumbs.  And, while I’ve tried to steer clear of these “toppings”, there are times I resort back to my roots.

Yesterday was one of those times. I was dreaming of asparagus this week….and the only way I wanted it was with the rich tastes of butter and cheese!  So, I found this recipe and gave it a shot.

I started by cutting the aspargus in cute little 2″ pieces, and then boiling them until just tender.

Mmmm, they look so yummy!  Next I prepared the sauce.  I started with just some butter and flour, and then slowly added milk and finally the cheese.

(Side Note:  Do you see my TINY grater?  It is so cute!  My husband brought it home for me as a gift about two years ago after I pitched a huge fit about not having one :).  But, let me tell ya, the thing is a total pain in the rear-end!  Way to small! However, I can’t bring myself to buy a new one because this one is special!)

Anyway, with the sauce done I poured it over the asparagus and topped it all off with some breadcrumbs.

My husband loved this recipe!  I went to school last night and when I came home he had only saved me a small scoop of it….that’s always a good sign that I made something delicious!

Southern Asparagus Casserole

1 lb of asparagus

3 tablespoon butter

1/4 cup all purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

pepper to taste

1 cup of milk

1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese

Wash asparagus and cut into 2″ pieces.  Cook in boiling water until just tender.  Drain and place in a shallow baking dish.  Melt butter in saucepan on low heat.  Blend flour, salt, and pepper into the butter in the saucepan.  Continue cooking and stirring over low heat.  Gradually add milk, stirring until thickened.  Then add the Worcestershire sauce and cheese and stir until cheese is melted.  Pour the sauce over the asparagus.  Top with breadcrumbs.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

About journeytobodyzen

Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

