Oh healthy day!

Today was great!

Breakfast was Kashi Go Lean Cereal with Flaxseeds sprinkled on top.  Lunch was Joseph’s Hummus with celery sticks and a fresh tomato.  And dinner…..

Squash & Zucchini Casserole and a fresh tomato! The casserole was so tasty. I love squash and zucchini, especially home-grown ones like these!

Onto bigger and better news:  I ran 2 miles today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is such a big deal for me.  My motivation is high and my endurance is tested with each run.  I’m starting to really like running <——- Never thought I’d say that!

If you have any squash or zucch’s leftover, try this recipe!

Squash and Zucchini Casserole (Adapted from Paula Deen)

6 cups large diced yellow squash and zucchini

1 large onion, chopped

1 tablespoons butter

1/2 cup sour cream

1 teaspoon House seasoning, recipe follows

1 cup grated cheddar cheese

1 cup crushed butter crackers (recommended: Ritz)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Boil the squash, zucchini, and onion in about 2 inches of water over medium-high heat until it has completely broken down, about 15 to 20 minutes. Drain. Squeeze excess moisture from the squash/zucchini/onion. Set aside.

Mix all ingredients together except cracker crumbs. Pour mixture into a buttered casserole dish and top with cracker crumbs. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes.

House Seasoning

  • 1 cup salt
  • 1/4 cup black pepper
  • 1/4 cup garlic powder

Mix ingredients together and store in an airtight container for up to 6 months.

Yield: 1 1/2 cups

About journeytobodyzen

Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh healthy day!

  1. Sava says:

    Two miles is an accomplishment for me, too 🙂
    Congrats! I know how it feels to meet the next milestone and I’m excited for you! I’m starting to like running too. Being a World of Warcraft nerd for the last few years and a computer / book nerd for my whole life, I never thought I would say that, either!

Leave a Reply

