Mmmmm…Apple Blackberry Crisp!

Let me first start with the highlight of my day….

Flowers from my hubby! So sweet! I love him.

Now onto the crisp.

Start by mixing the topping together…  It can get messy!

Set aside.  Now onto the fruit.  I find that it is easy to peel apples with a carrot/cucumber peeler.

Now, mix the apples, blackberries, lemon juice+sugar, and lemon zest.

And then you’re ready to bake!  Simply pour the fruit mixture in the baking dish and spread the topping over it evenly.  Then into the oven it goes 🙂
This is one my new favorite apple dishes.  And, I confess, I ate it for breakfast!

Now off for a 1.5 mile run……….

Apple Blackberry Crisp

Adapted from joyofbaking.com

Ingredients:

Topping:

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup (50 grams) granulated white sugar

1/4 cup (55 grams) light brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon salt

6 tablespoons butter or margarine

1/3 cup (30 grams) old-fashioned rolled oats

1/3 cup (40 grams) chopped walnuts

Filling:

2 1/2 pounds (1.2 kg) or 6 cups apples (peeled, cored, and cut into 1 inch chunks)

1 cup fresh blackberries

Juice of 1/2 lemon

1 teaspoon lemon zest

3 tablespoons (40 grams) white granulated sugar

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) and place rack in the center of the oven. Butter or spray with a cooking spray, a 8 × 11 inch baking dish.

For Topping: Place all the topping ingredients (flour, sugars, cinnamon, butter, oats and nuts) in a bowl and mix with fingers until the mixture is crumbly (looks like coarse meal) and there are no large pieces of butter visible. Set aside while you prepare the filling.

For Filling: Place the apple chunks in a large bowl, along with the berries and lemon zest. Toss with the lemon juice and sugar and pour over fruit. Transfer to your prepared baking dish Spread the topping evenly over the apples.

Bake for approximately 30-40 minutes (20 – 25 minutes for individual ramekins) or until bubbly, and the topping is golden brown. Remove from oven and place on a wire rack to cool for about 30 minutes before serving.

Serve with softly whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. Refrigerate leftovers and reheat before serving.

Makes 4 servings.

About journeytobodyzen

Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mmmmm…Apple Blackberry Crisp!

  1. Sava says:

    This looks awesome! 😀

    Bookmarking this so I can come back to it later 😀

Leave a Reply

