~Labor Day~

Today is Labor Day! I have the day off! Yessss!

Unfortunately, last night’s Sangria was not the greatest.

It really just needed more fizz.  I tried using diet ginger ale, which was apparently a bad idea.  It came out rather flat.  However, I am going to try it with regular ginger ale to see if it makes it better.  I’ll let ya know!

Today I made “Lighter Peanut Butter Cookies”

First I combined the egg, vanilla, organic sugar, butter, olive oil and peanut butter.

Then I whipped it all up.

Then I slowly added the flour, baking powder and salt mixture and did some more whipping!

Next I covered it up and stuck it in the fridge for 3 hours.

During that longggg wait I did some yoga and then fixed some lunch.  I had elbow macaroni with white asparagus spaghetti sauce! Yum! I just took regular spaghetti sauce and sauteed some canned white asparagus and threw it in the sauce.

Back to the cookies…..Once they had chilled, I rolled them into balls and put them on some tinfoil.

Then I took the fork and made criss-crosses in the cookies.  Funnest part!

Baked ’em for 12 minutes and viola, homemade lighter peanut butter cookies!


They were so good! I had about 5 :).  This afternoon I went on a nice run/walk.  Felt so good to get out and let loose.

Lighter Peanut Butter Cookies (Adapted from Domino Organic Sugar)

Makes 16 cookies

3/4 cup Organic Sugar

1/3 cup peanut butter

1/8 cup butter

2 TBSP olive oil

1 egg

1/3 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp salt

Cream sugar, peanut butter, butter, olive oil, egg and vanilla until smooth.  Combine dry ingredients, then add to sugar mixture.  Mix until smooth.  Chill dough for 3 hours.  Preheat oven to 350F.  Roll into balls 1&1/4 inches, place on ungreased cookie sheet 3 inches apart.  Flatten in a crisscross pattern with a fork.  Bake for 9-12 minutes.


About journeytobodyzen

Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~Labor Day~

  1. Mgoh says:

    I love Peanut butter on everything, including peanut butte cookies!!!!!!

  2. Sava says:

    Lately I’ve been looking through my cookbooks for things to try and I somehow ended up with a list of desserts! Your cookies made me think of that 😛

    They look delicious, by the way!

Leave a Reply

