My First Homemade Pasta

Hello everyone.  So last night I decided to try a recipe that I had seen on another blog and gotten reallllly excited about.  I follow Jenna’s blog called Eat,Live,Run.

http://eatliverun.com/

About a week ago, she posted a recipe for Homemade Goat Cheese Ravioli. Sounded delicious so I gave it a try. I started with the simple ingredients. Flour, egg, olive oil, goat cheese, onion, and garlic. (Jenna used shallots, but I only had onion in the house!)

Jenna made the recipe for one person.  However I needed to make it for 2 people (a very hungry husband!) so I actually doubled her recipe twice…..in the original recipe, the ball of dough made 3 ravioli’s.  I doubled this to make 6 ravioli’s and then made another ball of dough to make 6 more, equaling 12 ravioli’s.  I started with the flour and egg.  It was a lot of fun to make a perfect little crevice in the flour for the eggs to fall into.

Then I started adding some flour to the egg mixture.  NOTE:  this got realllllly messy!

It eventually started to get dough-like, but boy a ton of it stuck to my fingers!  However, I soon ended up with a nice dough ball.

Beautiful!  I repeated the process for two dough balls.  I could have just made one really big dough ball, but let’s face it, that would have taken forever to roll out!

Next, I put a damp paper towel over the balls and let them sit for 45 minutes.

While they were relaxing, I cooked the onions and garlic on the stove over medium heat.  I tried to cut the onions pretty small. And, my garlic was, well, from a jar 🙂

I cooked them on low heat (being very careful  not to overcook my garlic per Jenna!) for about 10 minutes.  Then I mixed them with the goat cheese.  It smelled delish!

Now it was time to roll the dough. I started with the first ball.  Boy was this tough!

I got it as flat as I possibly could.  It seemed like forever!  Once it was very thin, I cut out 4 rectangles.  Using a pizza cutter was a fab idea.

Then I plopped three spoonfuls of the goat cheese mixture onto one of the rectangles.

Next, I used one of the other rectangles to cover up the one with the cheese on it.  Then I pinched all the sides and corners together and cut them into three raviolis 🙂

Unfortunately, I couldn’t get the sides and corners to stick together too well, so I ended up folding them.  Finished product:

Now to boil.  I boiled them for about 6 minutes.

And viola!  They’re done!  My husband loved them and ate them right up :).  I thought that they were a little to thick and too doughy to the taste, but the filling made up for that!  It was delish 🙂  This was a fun project, and I look forward to perfecting it!

About journeytobodyzen

Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Homemade Pasta

  1. Sava says:

    This reminds me of when I made cinnamon rolls from scratch.
    There was a lot of kneading and rolling and shaping involved, so I was suuuuper proud when they came out just how they were supposed to, in the end!

    It looks like making these raviolis has that same feeling of ‘craftsmanship’ to them (thats the only word I can think of to describe it!)
    So I’m gonna start looking to see if I can find a vegan homemade pasta recipe out there somewhere 🙂

    • Yes, that is exactly how it felt! Honestly, I don’t spend a lot of time in the kitchen making things from scratch. It is so time consuming! However, this was a great experience. My husband and I talked and goofed off the whole night while making them, and he helped out by taking some pics when my fingers were covered in dough. When they were done, I looked back on the night and was so happy! I am definitely going to start creating more things from scratch! In addition, it made me appreciate my food so much more and really taking my time to absorb every morsel knowing that I had put so much time and effort into it 🙂 Good luck on the search for vegan pasta! Let me know what you find…

Leave a Reply

