I’m definitely not a Yoplait kinda girl…

I have really tried hard to like yogurt.  I’ve tried a million flavors, a million brands.  But, no matter what it still tastes bitter and bland to me.  Plus, I am astonished at how much sugar some of them have for such poor taste to accompany it!  My coworkers had be intrigued when they started talking about Greek yogurt so this week I bought two.

This morning I decided to give the Strawberry Banana flavor a try.  I was very excited and couldn’t wait to taste it after reading all the good things about it on the container!

Hmmmm, at this point I’m thinking it looks a little sour-creamish, but I proceed to stir.

This looks much better!  But it is missing one ingredient.

Perfect!  I proceed to take my first bite and……..GROSS!  To me this was worse than regular yogurt.  I stand in my kitchen completely confused about all the hype of Greek yogurt.  It tastes like chalk!  More than ever, I am disappointed that my taste-buds are so anti-yogurt.  😦  So, I managed to take one more bite before throwing it out and grabbing a bowl of Kashi cereal.  Oh well….guess I’ll be giving my blueberry Greek yogurt to a coworker…and no more yogurt-tasting for me!

About journeytobodyzen

Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Day to Day. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m definitely not a Yoplait kinda girl…

  1. Rebecca says:

    Awww man that stinks you can’t find a yogurt to like. I dont know what I’d do w/o it in the am. I put sliced strawberries in bowl, Vanilla yogurt on them the granola cereal on top. Yum-o. I’m actually not too on board with the Greek yogurt hype. It’s too thick for me!

  2. rebeccahansen84 says:

    I hate yogurt, too! For me, it’s a total textural thing. I say, who needs it! 😉

  3. I’m not a huge yogurt fan either. Vanilla is the only flavor I will eat because I hate the texture of masticated fruit I find in so many other varieties. But there are plenty of other healthy (probably more healthy) choices that are quick and easy for breakfast. If you’re looking for something to eat with fresh fruit try mascarpone, it’s a sweet Italian cream cheese, though I can’t say it’s going to be any more healthy than yogurt it will at least taste yummy!

Leave a Reply

