Canned Carrots…

So, my walk didn’t last too long….I was hoping on walking longer but I met my husband on the road as he was driving home from work.  I hadn’t talked to him all day long so I hopped in his truck! I did make it up this big hill though (it is bigger in life!).  Unfortunately, I don’t have any paved road near my house.  I really don’t like walking on dirt roads, so I haven’t been very motivated to do so.

For dinner I grabbed a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store.  I was very busy this afternoon and didn’t have time to cook a big meal.  I did experiment with some canned carrots.  These cans have been staring at me for about two months from my pantry.  A friend gave them to me and I finally decided that tonight was the night to use them!

These are the ingredients I decided to use:

I really like “Best Life Buttery Spread”.  It healthier than most margarines/butter and it tastes really good to me.  To cook the carrots I added about 3 tablespoons of the butter to a pan.  I let this melt a bit and then threw the drained carrots in keeping the temperature on low.  At first I was pretty skeptical!  It seemed to be slightly watery so I was thinking that it was going to be too mushy.  However, I decided to bump up the heat to medium and this did the trick!  The carrots cooked and became more firm.  I then put 3 pinches of organic sugar on them but I was not pleased with the taste.  My final touch was to sprinkle with a bit of salt and pepper and this made the carrots taste so much better!  My husband ate them up but I thought they still had a slightly “canned” taste.  But, overall not too shabby!

About journeytobodyzen

Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

