Self-Care

Hi friends.

Please head over to Voice in Recovery and read about a 21 day challenge for self-care!  I’m loving the Voice in Recovery blog!

I wasn’t too familiar with the term “self-care” until I began working in the mental health field.  However, now, I practice it pretty regularly.  I am excited about this 21 day challenge!  Self-care is a process of taking care of yourself physically, mentally, and emotionally so that you avoid burnout in life.  As a therapist, it can be very difficult for me to listen to emotional and traumatic experiences from clients for 8 hours a day.  And sometimes, it is hard for me not to feel depressed and mentally drained by the end of the day.  Thus, it is essential that I maintain especially good emotional and mental self-care.

Therapists are not the only ones that need self-care.  We all do.  So many people experience stress on their jobs, financial stress, relationship strains, fatigue…the list goes on and on!  But how often do we take time daily to take care of ourselves?  Most of us are just too dang busy for this.

I encourage you to take part in the 21 day self-care challenge.  You will be amazed at how much more fulfilling your life will be by just spending some time and efforts focused on you each day.

Here are some things that I do to maintain good self-care.  You should make a list of your own!:

  • yoga
  • hot bath
  • resting after a tired day….(really resting & doing nothing else!)
  • reading a magazine
  • guided imagery (Click here to download an awesome one!)
  • drinking hot cocoa (this always makes me feel happy!)
  • getting a foot rub by the hubby
  • playing with my dog
  • being sure to talk to the husband/friend/or family member if I need someone to talk to!

Take care of yourself.  You’re worth it!

About journeytobodyzen

Hi! I a girl approaching the big 3-0 who is on a search to find zen for my body. Being busy all the time (full time job, full time grad student, and juggling an internship!) I have limited time to exercise and even less time to prepare nutritional meals. However, I figure a blog will keep me accountable and help me to make some much needed changes in my life! I hope I can bring some tips to help other busy folks as well. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Self-Care

  1. VoiceinRecovery says:

    Such a HUGE compliment! Thank you so much for the lovely words and support! I find self care often gets overlooked! I think we get busy, think it can be pushed off, and we forgot how much it feeds us body, mind and soul. :)

  2. Regan says:

    I love this notion of self-care. We are all often so busy “doing” life or taking care of “other” things, we forget ourselves, no?

    It’s just a small way to offer you a pat on the back (and little food for the body), but I’d love to send you a “Random Act of Cheddar.” http://www.givecheddar.com

    You can email me offline with mailing address, and we’ll get it sent out to you ASAP!

Leave a Reply

